Review on Saga Vols 1-4 by Brian K. Vaughan

I finally jumped on the Saga bandwagon after nearly all my friends have read it. I love graphic novels and especially ones with lots of weird stuff. This has sci-fi action, aliens, space opera, along with relationship drama, family arguments, grandma and grandpa showing up in the middle in the two main characters running for their lives with their newborn daughter. There is even an author who writes subversive bodice rippers! Ha! A recipe for success if I ever saw one.

My problem is, I really, REALLY liked the first two volumes and then the next two were just kinda MEH to me. I am not a fan of relationship drama and we get a LOT of that in volume four.

We also have the bad-ass, but one-dimensional ex-fiance (Gwendolyn). There’s not much to her except wanting revenge. A bit of a yawn factor there for me.

One of my favorite characters is the Lying Cat. Lying Cat senses when people are lying and it’s hilarious and often comes up in inopportune times. But, Lying Cat also gives the story heart when he offers comfort to Slave Girl (aka Sophie) at one point. The Will is a mercenary tracker who is his best friend. I like The Will.

The sci-fi aspects are off the charts cool. It’s the angst and drama that feels a bit like filler to me. The story of star-crossed lovers who fell in love even though their peoples have warred and despise each other is one we have all seen at one point or another. I just feel like I need a bit more MEAT by this point. I want more action and less, “Is Marko going to cheat on Alana?”

The robot people are kinda weird and funny too. They have TV heads and the king has a huge flat-screen as a head, which for some reason, I found hilarious.

I’m not giving up though. So far, I think if I averaged my rating for the first four volumes, it’d be sitting at about 3.75 stars?

My reviews for the volumes are below.

Saga Vol. 1 at Goodreads. ★★★★★

Saga Vol. 2 at Goodreads. ★★★★

Saga Vol 3 at Goodreads. ★★★

Saga Vol. 4 at Goodreads. ★★★

2 thoughts on “Review on Saga Vols 1-4 by Brian K. Vaughan

  1. I’ve only read the first two volumes, and liked them OK, so I guess I stopped at the right point? Nothing against Saga, I just have a really tough time finding a graphic novel that works for me. I tend to get lost in the imagery and lose focus on the story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

