Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad #1) by Scott Reintgen

Emmett Atwater is one of ten teens picked by a multi-billion dollar corporation called Babel Communications to travel through space to a planet to help mine a new, amazing element/metal/compound called nyxia. (There is actually a reason why it can only be teenagers, but… spoiler.)

Once the paperwork has been signed and they are onboard, Bable pulls a fast one and announces only 8 will actually go to the planet, so it becomes a competition on the space ship to win a coveted spot on the team that goes down to the planet.

The book covers various training activities and the dynamics of the group as they go through ups and downs. This book is a little reminiscent of Ender’s Game, Red Rising, and Hunger Games, but it’s original enough to stand on its own.

I found this book to be very easy to read and crazy-hard to put down at times. I actually had to force myself to slow down at some parts because I was starting to skim to find out what was going to happen. It’s suspenseful and has surprises. I think this is going to be very popular!

My only criticism is the romance towards the end didn’t do anything for me and I am not sure if I even trust that character. Also, the book ends before they get to the planet! GAH! I am dying to know what happens next! I can’t wait for the next book.

This comes out in September and I can highly recommend this for YA dystopian sci-fi fans. Don’t worry for those sci-fi shy – it’s very accessible and not bogged down with any lengthy descriptions.

Four stars!

Thank you Netgalley and publisher for providing a digital copy to read and review! Great debut novel!

Review also found at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

