“The Multiversity” by Grant Morrison

The MultiversityThe Multiversity by Grant Morrison
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received a digital copy of this from Netgalley and DC to read and review. However, I didn’t get to it in time and lost access to the file. I wanted to read it bad enough to buy a copy from Amazon, and I’m glad I did. This is something I will read again in the future and the illustrations are fantastic.

Review also found at:
https://theparanormalpaladin.wordpres…

This was a confusing and sometimes baffling read, which I guess is pretty typical for a Morrison story. 🙂 This one has 52 Earths existing side by side with all different kinds of superheroes living in them. A cursed comic has been planted in each one, which (somehow?) has the potential to destroy the worlds unless the heroes can prevent it. It’s another “crisis event” thing with a villain called the Gentry and another villain called Sivana (?) that has multiple versions in each world, also trying to bring destruction and chaos to the worlds.

While epic, it was hard to follow at times, and I don’t think the finale was very satisfying. The illustrations were amazing, so I’m adding a star.

I love Grant Morrison. If you’re a fan, you will probably like this. In my view, it’s not his best. Apparently, there’s another theory that it’s about over-analyzing comics and one character represents the reader and others the bloggers and critics? I could just be too dumb to see that deep into it, but I never suspected anything like that. Maybe that ties into all the warnings to “not read further” and “don’t turn the page, reader” and breaking the 4th wall?

Overall, it was interesting and weird and pretty typical Morrison. I liked it, but I didn’t love it. I did love the illustrations though.

Original review:I took a few pics before starting…

On Netgalley: 8 SEPTEMBER 2015!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

