“Seize the Night: New Tales of Vampiric Terror” by Christopher Golden

Seize the Night: New Tales of Vampiric TerrorSeize the Night: New Tales of Vampiric Terror by Christopher Golden
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thank you Netgalley for a digital copy of this to read and review. I do love me some vampire stories, both the romantic ones and the creepy, horror ones. This is an anthology of the horror-type variety.

Overall, this was solid collection of horror stories. I admit with the cover of the shirt-less male on the front, I was expecting something a little more along the lines of this:

Or at least this:

Some of it was very vampy, of course, but mainly it was stories about flesh-eating monsters. Still good for horror fans.

I knew this wasn’t about emo sparkly vampires or sexy muscular ones who were great in bed, etc. But I was expecting less monsters and more old-school vampires. However, this is was still pretty good. I’m glad I read it.

Now for my long-ass breakdown of the stories and how I rated them.

1)Up in Old Vermont – 3 stars (a nice and creepy story involving vampire creatures called the skad)

2)Something Lost, Something Gained by Seanan McGuire – 3 stars (an interesting take on vampires involving fireflies?)

3)On the Dark Side of Sunlight Basin – 2 stars (meh, this one didn’t do much for me)

4)The Neighbors by Sherrilyn Kenyon – 2 stars (This was incredibly short and just when it got good, it ended. The only reason I can think to include this is because of the author’s popularity.)

5)Paper Cuts – 4 stars (A wonderful story, longer than most of the others… it was creepy and had a very unique take on vampires. One of my favorites in the anthology.)

6)Miss Fondevant by Charlaine Harris – 2.5 stars (This had the potential of being interesting, but ended up just being okay. Harris is into “energy vampires” these days. She’s got one in her current Midnight series and it’s a similiar premise here. It just didn’t do much for me.)

7)In a Cavern, in a Canyon – 1.5 stars – MEH. (I’m starting to wonder where the real vampires are in this freaking book.

8)Whiskey and Light – 2 stars – MEH. (This one was boring although (view spoiler) I just didn’t care for the story that came before the ending.

9)We Are All Monsters Here by Kelley Armstrong – 4 stars (This was really good. A dystopian, apocalyptic take on vampires as a contagion-type disaster scenario. I really enjoyed it!)

10)May the End Be Good – 3 stars (This was decent, creepy, and had the horror and gore aspect you’d expect in a book like this.)

OMG I’m only halfway done. This book is too frigging long. I think some of these stories could have easily been left out, to be honest, and it would have make it stronger overall.

11)Mrs. Popkin – 5 stars! (Hahaha, this one was awesome. I am not even sure what exactly happened or what was really going on, but it was creepy and twisted and fun. What a freaky family!)

12)Direct Report – 4 stars (This was really good. More of what I was hoping for with this collection: real vampires. A female accepts a job with a man who ends up being much more than he appears. She gets her revenge after going through some crazy shit. I don’t want to say any more because of spoilers. I enjoyed this one a lot, though.)

13)Shadow and Thirst – 2 stars (I couldn’t get into this one. It had a cool sci-fi twist to it, but I was bored with the back story and it just wasn’t my thing, I guess.)

14)Mother – 3 stars (This was written well and a nicely fleshed-out story about two rivals seeking information about the chupacabra who end up finding another type of monster altogether. Creepy and a good horror tale.)

15)Blood – 1 star (I think this was my least favorite out of the anthology. It was some weird Lolita thing and I had no idea what the ending meant.)

16)The Yellow Death – 4 stars (I enjoyed this. It was an apocalyptic deal with vampire-type creatures. It was a decent story with a nice creep factor. Much more along the lines of what I wanted with this.)

17)The Last Supper – 3 stars (This one had an end-of-the-world setting also. A lonely vampire wanders, looking for food and company.)

18)Separator – 3.5 stars (This was a nice horror story set in the Philippines about a creature called a manananggal which is a type of monster vampire that can detach the upper part of its body and fly around with wings looking for victims to eat. Prefers organs to “just” blood-drinking. Unlikable MC who sort of gets what he deserves, but it’s also creepy and gross. A good story.)

19)What Kept You So Long? – 3 stars (An entertaining story about a trucker who was infected with vampirism and the hitchhiker he picks up.)

20)Blue Hell – 3 stars (A weird one about an ancient tribe offering sacrifices to a flesh-eating water monster called Chaac.)

Review also found at:

https://theparanormalpaladin.wordpres…

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

