“Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined” by Stephenie Meyer

No no no no no.

Okay, I admit I had my doubts at first, but then because I love Twilight so much, I decided I had no choice but to read this and ended up looking forward to this “reimagined” version. Only, aside from the alternate ending and a couple other scenes, there wasn’t much reimagining going on. The alternate ending, I admit, was kind of cool, but then most of it ended up being a recapping of the rest of the series and a huge unnecessary info dump.

I guess I can’t help it. I can’t picture any of the characters except as they were. I LIKED Edward and Bella. I missed Alice and Jasper and Carlisle and the other characters. They didn’t need changing.

It is apparent that Meyer “cleaned up” the writing and that part of it was better, but who cares??? That was for her, not the readers/fans. It seems like this whole endeavor was for her… to settle a curiosity, to fix errors, and other items she had OCD about.

It just didn’t work for me AT ALL. If anything, she should have released a short story with just the alternate ending. This was just a way for them to ramp the price up and to satisfy some ego thing with Meyer. The characters weren’t different enough to make this seem like a true “reimagining” – or worth making an entire new book about. If she had “reimagined” their personalities, it would have been much better. I didn’t like Beau or Edythe that much. Switching the names completely changed the dynamic and atmosphere of the story. I know that if this had been the original story, I would not have liked the series as much. I suppose it satisfies a curiosity for those so inclined.

I would wait until it gets to your library or you can get it for free, though. I would have much preferred a short story about another character. Whatever, I’m moving on. Still love me some original Twilight, though. #guiltypleasure

Buddy read with Anne and Kat.

Leave a Reply

