“Blightborn (The Heartland Trilogy #2)” by Chuck Wendig

2 stars

I originally DNF’d this at 53% and then decided to try and finish it because I got it from Netgalley and wanted to be able to provide feedback. I am going to keep my original rating. I just didn’t think was as good as the first one. I feel like the same story could have been told in less pages. This felt bloated and I didn’t care about any of the new characters. I did like Balastair. The female characters were annoying and I didn’t really like Cael either. I have the third one so will finish the trilogy. I hope the last one is better than this one.

Original review:

DNF 53%. I really enjoyed the first book, but this one is seriously annoying me. The two main characters, Cael and Gwennie are the most annoying, irritating characters and I wish they were killed off. I like every other character so much more. Why can’t Cael be killed off and Lane be the main male character from here on out?

I hate Gwennie. I love Merelda McAvoy. I totally understand why she left the Heartland. She made a better life for herself and mega-bitch Gwennie had to ruin it for her. She’s so selfish and will take anyone out to find her family. I get that her family is important, but you don’t destroy other innocent people to accomplish your goals, you dumb bitch. I can’t stand her. Kill Cael and Gwennie off and I will continue reading this. If anyone has finished this trilogy and can tell me that things change with these idiotic characters, I will pick this back up and try again.

But I don’t have time for BS like this. I do not want a HEA for Cael and Gwennie. I am not rooting or cheering for them whatsoever. They should go back to the Heartland and eat rats and continue their existence that they thought was peachy keen. Only they wanted to bitch when they were in it, but not when they had opportunities to get out of it. Instead, they attack everyone and anything that offers them a chance because they are suspicious and selfish pigs. God, I hate them both. Ruined it for me. 😦

I’m sorry. But this pisses me off. I can’t even. Also, WAY too much switching between chapters and POVs. Just when a little bit of action happened, it switched, then a few pages later, just when some momentum was building, ANOTHER switch. Seriously. That is frustrating.

Original post:

Yay, I was approved by Netgalley for book 2 in this trilogy! Here is my review for the first book. I really liked it and can’t wait to keep going with this story.

🙂

Also posted at Goodreads

Leave a Reply

