“Magic Shifts” (Kate Daniels #8) by Ilona Andrews

2 stars – Ok, unpopular opinion time. I know it’s blasphemy and all, but this book was just okay to me. I found it a struggle to get through.

A couple months have passed since the last book. Kate and Curran are going through the final process of full separation from the Pack. They now live in a suburban neighborhood with Julie and we see a lot of domesticity in the beginning. I don’t know why, but this is a trope in urban fantasy that really annoys me. However, it’s not like I didn’t know it was coming.

The main plot in this one was a werebison goes missing, Eduardo. To further complicate matters, we find out his girlfriend is the Alpha Bear, Mahon’s, daughter, and he is a long-standing bigot we all know and are aware of. So we get lots of family and romance angst, mixed in with the domesticity at the beginning.

The good thing to me was in the beginning (around 20%), we see that Kate seems to have hit her stride. She knows how to use her powers more, she’s in her prime. Then, she has a stroke and it feels weird. I’m not sure what that was all about, but it felt like it was just a plot device.

I felt like a lot of characters just made a token appearance. The side story of Curran taking over the Guild was okay, I guess. He had to have significance established for the future books.

None of my favorite characters really had a significant role and maybe that was part of it. Saiman has one scene you’d miss if you blinked. The conversation with Roland was nothing more than a huge info-dump, really. I felt like a lot of this book was transitional or info-dumping or just…filler.

There’s a lot of things that are repeated, like how many times have we heard Roland described something like…”if the sun had risen” or something to do with what just looking on him when we has happy with you was like the sun rising or whatnot.

I just didn’t care about Mahon or Eduardo or George or the big bad in this one. The writing is fine and for people who really get into seeing all the appearances of the various characters in the world, it is great. I hope the next one is a little darker and maybe I just like the “bad guys” in this world too much. They are much more intriguing to me.

I will re-read this in the future and probably will like it more. At least, that happened with the previous book, so I’m thinking it could just be my current mood. I just couldn’t get into this one.

Review also found at: Goodreads

Leave a Reply

