“Witch Hunt” (Preternatural Affairs, #1) by S.M. Reine

4 stars – Cèsar works for the Office of Preternatural Affairs. He’s a witch whose specialty is poultices and other minor potions for energy and stamina. To keep him on his toes and buff enough to outrun the bad guys. One day he wakes up and there’s a dead lady in his tub and he has no freaking idea what the heck is going on. The law (and the law the general public doesn’t know about) is after him and he has to figure out who killed this chick quick.

I have to say, I have become sketchy towards Kindle freebies, but this was totally worth spending the time to read. It’s short and the story moves along quickly with humor and entertaining pop culture references (hey, mentioning Star Trek and Indiana Jones is always a win for me).

I didn’t care for Suzy, but I liked Isobel. Maybe I’m slow, but I didn’t figure out the twists. Cèsar is a bit of a horndog and always thinking of sexual things when it comes to women, but I found it amusing, and he’s a good guy, so it wasn’t creepy or annoying, in my view at least. He did walk into some dumb situations, but you know, that’s pretty common for Urban Fantasy characters. I thought he was sexy.

I think this was a solid first book in a series and I am definitely interested in continuing the series!

yesgood

Buddy read with Supe-er Heroines Group in July.

Free on Amazon 7/18/2015

Amazon “Witch Hunt” by S.M. Reine

Review also at:

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

